Jump to main content Sitemap Web browsing and accessibility help

A Vida Vai Engolir-vos

Tónan Quito
© Estelle Valente / Teatro São Luiz
Dates and Schedules

7 – 18 July

1st part,  Teatro São Luiz
7, 9, 14, and 16 July, 19h to 24h

2nd part, Teatro Nacional D. Maria II
8, 10, 15, and 17 July , 19h to 24h

Full version
11 and 18 July, 19h to 24h ((Teatro São Luiz – 1st part) and 1h to 6h (Teatro Nacional D. Maria II – 2nd part)


Sala Luis Miguel Cintra


To be announced

Age Restriction

Age rate pending


Tónan Quito sets out to adapt and stage Anton Tchekhov’s four main plays:  A Gaivota, Três Irmãs, O Tio Vânia and O Ginjal. A work describing the life of certain layers of the petty bourgeoisie of that time, disoriented and depressed people, beset by the collapse of a decaying society, the vices and ambiguities of an intellectuality divided between the desire for the transformation of reality and its inability to act against this same society. Tónan Quito’s intention is to present these plays as one, first divided into two episodes, shown in different days and places (in Lisbon, between o Teatro São Luiz e o Teatro Nacional D. Maria II); and then, at once, in both theatres, from early evening to early morning. The protagonist of A Vida Vai Engolir-vos is, thus, dawn, a time when many changes occur in Tchekhovs plays. “Dawn is the future. What is to be! The change from the old to the new; the bankruptcy of the old ways; the liberation of the old truths”, believes the director, who is also one of the actors in the play.

Cast and Creative

Author Anton Tchekhov Translation Nina Guerra and Filipe Guerra Artistic Direction Tónan Quito Adaptation and dramaturgy Miguel Loureiro and Tónan Quito Cast Gonçalo Waddington, João Pedro Mamede, Leonor Cabral, Miguel Loureiro, Mónica Garnel, Paula Diogo, Rita Cabaço, Sílvia Filipe, Tónan Quito Set F. Ribeiro Lighting Design Daniel Worm Costumes José António Tenente; Sound Design Pedro Costa Executive Production Armando Valente Support O Espaço do Tempo Co-production HomemBala, Teatro Nacional São João, Teatro Municipal do Porto – Rivoli, Teatro Nacional D. Maria II and São Luiz Teatro Municipal


Skip slideshow controls