Jump to main content Sitemap Web browsing and accessibility help

Orquestra Sinfónica Juvenil

Concerto comemorativo do 50º Aniversário (50th Anniversary Commemorative Concert)
Past event
Dates and Schedules

31 October
Tuesday, 9.30 pm


Sala Luis Miguel Cintra


Free admission, subject to capacity. Tickets available at the Theatre Box Office on the same day, from 15h00 (maximum 4 tickets per person).

Age Restriction



On 18 December 1973, the Orquestra Sinfónica Juvenil made its debut on the stage where, fifty years later, it celebrates its 50th anniversary: Teatro São Luiz. In these fifty years of life, thousands of young musicians have passed through its ranks and hundreds of concerts, internships, tours, performances abroad have been held. In these five decades, they have returned to São Luiz frequently, and dozens of concerts have taken place here. The concert commemorating the 50th anniversary of the Orquestra Sinfónica Juvenil is conducted by Chris Topher Bochmann, a Portuguese-British composer with a long list of works for almost all genres and numerous arrangements and orchestrations, who has lived and worked in Lisbon since 1980 and who will present here, in a world premiere, his composition Golfadas de Silêncio, based on poems by Eugénio de Andrade.

Over the past decades, the OSJ has trained many orchestral players, made many young soloists known to the public and taken its action in favour of musical culture throughout the country. It is therefore recognised as a fundamental institution in our musical-pedagogical panorama, being the only symphonic orchestra of young people with permanent activity, playing a central role in the training of musicians, in a perspective of high-level improvement and professionalisation.



Vier Tondichtungen, Op. 128
Der geigende Eremit
Im spiel der Wellen
Die Toteninsel

BOCHMANN, Christopher (1950)
Golfadas de Silêncio (world premiere)
Based on poems by Eugénio de Andrade

HUNPERDINK, Engelbert (1854 – 1921)
Hansel und Gretel

Cast and Creative

Direction Christopher Bochmann Performance Youth Symphony Orchestra


Skip slideshow controls