Jump to main content Sitemap Web browsing and accessibility help


by Philip Glass
musical direction by Martim Sousa Tavares staging by Miguel Loureiro movement by Miguel Pereira
Past event
Dates and Schedules

16 to 26 March
Thursday to Saturday, 8 PM; Sunday, 5:30 PM


15, 16, 22 and 23 March
Wednesday and Thursday, 2:30 PM

Target audience: Secondary and College


Sala Luis Miguel Cintra




€12 to €15 with discounts (Covered by the Culture Pass - available only at the Theater ticket office)

Age Restriction

+ 14


In English, subtitled in Portuguese


Arriving at a penal colony on an unnamed island, a visitor finds a complex execution engine ready to work on an anonymous convict. Watching over the merciless machine is an officer, the only person who understands how it works and believes in its reason for being.

Based on Franz Kafka’s eponymous short story, adapted by Rudy Wurlitzer and with music by Philip Glass, In The Penal Colony is an intense reflection on the fragile duality of human reason, where the fine line between justice and injustice is explored and crossed with narrative mastery.

In The Penal Colony is a modern classic directed by Miguel Loureiro, musical direction by Martim Sousa Tavares and movement by Miguel Pereira.



Integrated in the Bienal Cultura e Educação, 2023 RETROVISOR: Uma História do Futuro, Plano Nacional das Artes


Cast and Creative

Composition by Philip Glass Libreto by Rudolph Wurlitzer based on the tale by Franz Kafka musical direction Martim Sousa Tavares Staging Miguel Loureiro Movement Miguel Pereira conductor Martim Sousa Tavares singers André Henriques (baritone), Frederico Projecto (tenor) Performers João Gaspar and Paulo Quedas Extra Tomás Vinhas musicians Malu Santos (first violin), Frederico Oliveira (second violin), Inês Barros (viola), Pedro Serra e Silva (cello), Miguel Menezes (double bass) co-repetitor pianist Ricardo Martins Light Design Eduardo Abdala and Manuel Abrantes scenography André Guedes costumes José António Tenente hair and makeup Magali Santana Sound technician Pedro Baptista Support for graphic composition (Scenography) Ana Braga video composition Beatriz Tomaz & Armanda Claro photography Armanda Claro & Beatriz Tomaz Translation Ricardo Pereira Subtitles Ângela Flores Baltazar Executive production Rita Borges, João Albano, Joana Cordeiro, Patrícia Teixeira co-production O Rumo do Fumo and São Luiz Teatro Municipal Support Fundação Luso-Americana para o Desenvolvimento, Câmara Municipal de Lisboa Acknowledgments Companhia Nacional de Bailado, Teatro Nacional de São Carlos, Universidade de Lisboa – Museu Nacional de História Natural e da Ciência. Jardim Botânico Tropical, Carlos Bártolo, Gonçalo Barreiros, Tiago Antunes © 2000 Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc. Used by Permission /// O Rumo do Fumo is a structure supported by República Portuguesa – Cultura | Direção-Geral das Artes


Skip slideshow controls