Jump to main content Sitemap Web browsing and accessibility help

O Meu País Já Não Existe

Poetry & Jazz
Nicolau Santos and Manuel Lourenço
Dates and Schedules

November 8
Sunday 21h


Sala Luis Miguel Cintra


1h (approx.)


Journalist Nicolau Santos takes the stage in O Meu País Já Não Existe, with the poetry and music that have accompanied him throughout his life. A show in which he says poetry over a jazzy musical basis under the responsibility of the Quartet of Manuel Lourenço, the voice of Cláudia Franco and the Orquestra Filarmonia das Beiras, under the direction of conductor António Vassalo Lourenço. The Poesia & Jazz project, born in 2006, has combined these two forms of expression, combining the rhythm of spoken word, the musicality and the originality of poetry with the sounds of jazz and improvised music. In this concert with poetry, we hear themes from the great masters of jazz, such as Miles Davis, Bill Evans, Chick Corea, Richard Galliano, António Carlos Jobim, among others, and unpublished works by Manuel Lourenço, which merge with the poetry of Nicolau Santos and great names of Portuguese poetry, such as Mário Cesariny, Mário Henrique-Leiria, Jorge Sousa Braga, Reynaldo Ferreira, as well as African poets, such as Ruy de Carvalho, José Eduardo Agualusa, Ernesto Lara Filho, and Brazilians, such as Vinicius de Moraes, Carlos Drummond de Andrade, Manoel Bandeira, among others.

Cast and Creative

Artistic direction Manuel Lourenço and Nicolau Santos Musical direction Manuel Lourenço Musicians Nicolau Santos, recited voice; Manuel Lourenço, tenor sax, soprano, guitar and voice; Cláudia Franco, singing voice; Sérgio Rodrigues, piano; Gonçalo Leonardo, double bass; Pedro Felgar, drums Conductor António Vassalo Lourenço – Orquestra Filarmonia das Beiras Orchestra Arrangements Sérgio Rodriges and Tomás Pimentel Sound Luís Delgado Light design Vasco Silva Executive production Espelho de Cultura – Produções Artísticas, Lda  


Skip slideshow controls